Will You Be My Valentine?

valentine

I used to hate Valentine’s Day, or as I liked to call it, Singles Awareness Day. I did not understand why we had to commercialize something we should be doing everyday: showing our love.

I remember I would always roll my eyes at the girls who paraded their gaudy gifts around school. I noticed girls eyeing other girls’ bouquets, boxes of chocolates, and teddy bears to see if their’s was bigger. I think all of this cynicism of mine stemmed from the fact that Valentine’s Day always made me feel very self-conscious of my single-ness.

Of course I never admitted it back then. I was convinced that Valentine’s Day was just a way for card companies to make money off of us. But when I look back on it, I realize my own insecurities were why I disliked the holiday so much. Every year I would secretly hope that some secret admirer would send me some token of affection. Every year I was bitterly disappointed.

singles awareness day

Maybe this holiday isn’t the greatest, but over the past couple of years I’ve finally stopped letting Valentine’s Day make me feel so insecure about myself. I think it’s great that people use this day to go out all out and really show someone how much they care. I’ve come to realize that Valentine’s Day doesn’t have to be about romantic love. I use this day to just appreciate everyone I love, from my family, to my friends, to my dog.

Every day of the year should be used to show your love, but Valentine’s Day just gives us a socially acceptable excuse to go overboard and shout your love from the rooftops. Is there anything wrong with that?

-Pauline

Leave a Reply

