Freedom is Slavery

There may not be a telescreen in your bedroom, but sometimes you still feel like your every move is being watched.

I know this feeling all too well. I grew up under overprotective parents. I had to obey their every order without question. I couldn’t go anywhere or do anything without them dictating my every step.

Luckily, as I’ve grown up, my parents have trusted me more and allowed me my freedoms. I am very blessed that I have such understanding parents even though sometimes their overprotective nature still comes out.

But, freedom is slavery.

Freedom_Is_Slavery_by_kitten_boy

With these new liberties, you become enslaved to the responsibility that comes with the freedom. Staying out late and running with the wrong crowd is all fun and games, but it is your responsibility to not let those take over your life.

As I am being given more and more freedom with age, I am finding that perfect balance between freedom and slavery. I am learning to be smart with my decisions. For example, if I know I’m going to be out all day tomorrow, then I must get all of my work done ahead of time so I am not staying up so late.

Finding that balance between liberty and responsibility is all a part of growing up and I am excited to see where this exploration will take me.

-Pauline

One thought on “Freedom is Slavery

  1. Pingback: Freedom is to stand alone | Watching The World Think

Leave a Reply

