The Pursuit of Happiness

quotes,be,happy,words,bokeh,quote-7a0c8ab7861e89c5c27d60e1df6d79fe_h

Happiness. It’s what we all strive towards. All of our goals in life can be traced back to happiness. We seem to think that if we go to this college or if we make x amount of money, then we will be happy. And maybe you will be happy if you achieve all of those things, but there’s a chance you might not be happy at all. And guess what? You may have been equally as happy if not happier had you not gotten what you wanted.

Like the video above said, synthetic happiness doesn’t mean fake happiness, it’s just happiness that you’ve created for yourself. And that’s all you really need. Sometimes it can be even better than natural happiness.

We create happiness from what we have. If we are stuck in a situation, we will tend to make the most of it and end up liking where we are. The disappointment from not getting what we want is only a drop in the bucket of emotions that we will feel in life. In the grand scheme of things, not getting what we wanted won’t really matter. What you can do is be happy with what you have, because five years from now, you’re going to be off doing bigger and better things. You may not believe me at the moment, but you will be happy if you let yourself be.

I am trying to take my own advice as college decisions are being made. I had always set my sights on a certain college but now I’m trying to keep an open mind just in case I am not able to attend that college. Wherever I end up, I know I can make the most of it and be happy.

-Pauline

Leave a comment